Summer Love or Summer Done?

Alicia Rivera applied a thick layer of Hawaiian Tropic’s Tanning Oil and laid back against the pool chair. She shoved a pair of Juicy Couture headphones into her ears and blasted music. She looked across the Rivera Estate and watched as workers mowed her lawn. She felt a tap on the shoulder. Alicia turned to find The Pretty Committee looking down on her holding beach towels and Starbucks.

“May we join?” Massie grinned.

“Of course.” Alicia giggled.

“Okay, so! The party tonight!” Kristen laid her towel down and took a sip of her drink.

“Party? What party?” Alicia asked.

“Didn’t you get the text? I sent it yesterday.” Massie raised her left eyebrow.

“No, I didn’t.” Alicia replied.

“Weird.” Massie shrugged.

“Anyways. The party is tonight at 8.” Dylan interrupted.

“What’s it for again?” Claire chimed in.

“It’s a “middle of the summer/just because” party. One of the Briarwood boys is having it as his lake house.” Kristen answered.

“Me, Claire and Kristen found super cute dates. They’re ah-dorable.” Dylan laughed.

“Yeah and Derrick can come.” Massie said.

“Do you think Josh could come on such late notice?” Claire asked Alicia.

“Maybe.” Alicia looked down.

“What’s going on? Are you guys okay?” Dylan asked.

“Of course. I just don’t know about the whole ‘us’ thing anymore…” Alicia frowned.

“Wait, seriously? Ehmagawd!” TPC screamed.

“It’s just that we’ve been together for what seems like forever. Years. I don’t know what to do. I love him so much but I feel like I need someone new.” Alicia felt her eyes begin to water.

“So you’re not happy with him anymore?” Claire asked softly.

“The only time I’m happy is when I’m physically with him. I think it’s because I just don’t have the heart to break it off when I see him face to face.” Alicia answered.

“What are you going to do?” Massie walked over and sat down next to Alicia and rubbed her back.

“I’m not sure. I feel obligated to stay with him because we’ve been together for so long. Can you fall out of love with someone? I heard that if you feel like you don’t love someone anymore then you never did. I’m just so confused.” Alicia started to cry. The Pretty Committee rushed to Alicia’s side and gave her hugs and love and support. Dylan dabbed the mascara and eyeliner running down Alicia’s face.

“Have you talked to him about it? Maybe you should tell him you should see other people and see how it feels.” Massie suggested.

“Wouldn’t that be cheating?” Kristen asked.

“Not if you both agree. You’d be taking a break. Its a fact of life, ya know? Breakups.” Massie said.

“Yeah, I guess I’ll go call him.” Alicia rubbed her eyes, grabbed her phone and walked over to the other side of the pool so she was out of earshot.

“Ehmagawd, I feel so bad for her!” Claire frowned.

“Same here! We need to keep her mind of it tonight.” Kristen sighed.

“Poor thing. It’s summer, she should be happy.” Massie said.

“I know, she deserves it. I wonder how things are going on the phone.” Dylan wondered.

“Hopefully good.” Kristen looked worried.

“She’s coming back! Act casual.” Massie ordered.

“Heeyy girly!” TPC greeted her.

“He broke up with me.” Alicia sat down.

Silence.

“Are you…okay?” Dylan quietly asked.

“Yeah. I think I am. I feel like a big weight has been lifted off of me.” Alicia let out a small laugh while a tear rolled down her face.

“Mixed emotions, huh?” Massie said.

“Definitely.” Alicia replied.

“Well…Let’s party!” Kristen screamed.

The Pretty Committee giggled and jumped up and down. They were ready for tonight.

tumblr_ltuj1sdTi11qhr9wyo1_500

11 thoughts on “Summer Love or Summer Done?

  1. Hello Darling,
    Gorgeousness Post!
    Sorry to hear about you and Josh.
    I thought you to were a couple for keeps.
    Ah well you know what they say, good things come to an end.
    Plus, you needn’t worry, I’m sure the H.A.R.T.S of Westchester have formed an orderly queue by your door. 😉
    Love You,
    Natalie x 🙂
    P.S: New Post

  2. ARHY,
    It’s a good idea to take a break from the relationship with Josh and to meet new people during the summer :] It’s strange that he broke up with you just as you were about to do the same though!

    xoxo GMB

Leave a Reply

