Ehma-Thanksgiving

Alicia Rivera placed a cream colored napkin over her lap and sat up straight. She was sat at a large wooden table surrounded by her loving family. To her right was her cousin Emilia, who was obnoxiously chewing on a mouthful of turkey. To her left was her father, who was making a mound of mashed potatoes on his plate. Alicia sipped sparkling water through a crystal wine glass and glanced around at her cheerful family enjoying their meal.

“Can you please pass the bread?” Alicia asked her mother across the table.

“Here you are, darling.” She leaned over and placed the basket of bread next to her.

“Gracias.” She faked a smile.

Although she was in a room filled with her loving family, she couldn’t seem to enjoy it; at least not with the recent death at OCD. The thought was killing her. No one had any idea who the killer was, nor who was the victim. She slid her black iPhone 6 out of her navy blue blazer pocket and hid it under the table. She opened her iMessages and clicked on the group chat labeled “PC”.

ALICIA: ANY1 FIND ANYTHING OUT?

MASSIE: NO 😦

DYLAN: ME EITHER

KRISTEN: I HOPE WE FIND OUT SOON

CLAIRE: ME TOO. G2G, DINNER

MASSIE: SAME, TTYL

Alicia sighed and shoved her phone back into her pocket. She stuck her fork into a piece of turkey and popped it into her mouth. Her mind was going in a million directions, ideas were forming, and she didn’t like it. Alicia’s scheming mind was thinking of a plan. She couldn’t go another day without knowing even a little bit more information on the incident.

“May I please be excused?” Alicia asked politely.

“You’ve barely touched your food.” Her mother questioned.

“I don’t feel well.” Alicia replied.

And that wasn’t a lie. Her stomach was twisting and turning. She placed her napkin next to her plate and got up from the table. She hurried up the large staircase and into her bedroom. She shut the door and climbed into her king sized bed. Alicia couldn’t tell if she was feeling sympathetic or just craving the gossip. Suddenly, her phone vibrated.

“Hi Josh.” Alicia answered the call.

“Happy Thanksgiving babe.” He greeted her.

“You too. Did you eat yet?” She asked.

“Yes. I think I gained 10 pounds.” He laughed.

“I could barely eat.” Alicia said quietly.

“Why? Is something wrong?” Josh asked concerned.

“I can’t stop thinking about the death at OCD. I’m scared, yet curious. I don’t know.”

“Wow, is Alicia Rivera actually feeling…sympathetic?” He chuckled.

“It’s not funny.” She giggled.

“I know, I’m sorry. I’m worried about it too.”

“I doubt they will even tell us what happened when we get back to school when break ends. They think that we’re kids and we can’t handle these types of things.”

“They might. They might not. Just don’t lose sleep over it.” He comforted her.

“Thank you. I’ll let you get back to your family.”

“You should too.”

“I will. Talk to you later.”

“Wait, Alicia?” Josh stopped her.

“Yes?”

“I’m thankful for you.”

“Me too. I’m glad you’re in my life, Josh.” Alicia smiled and hung up the phone.

She sat there for a minute, trying to ease her mind. She rolled her eyes and opened up her iMessges again. She sent a text to the PC and Josh.

ALICIA: I HAVE A PLAN. MEET ME @ THE SCHOOL 2NIGHT AT 11 PM

She couldn’t help herself.

ARHY

Hey guys! I hope you all had an amazing Thanksgiving!

Check out this amazing new WP blogger and welcome her! 

http://oliviaryanxx.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Ehma-Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

